top of page

The First 24: Dress For the Job You Want (Mini-Series 1/5)


Regarding: November 9 - November 11th, 2016

 

Hello hello everyone!

So welcome to the first installment of a 5-part mini-series about my first 24-hours in country. This mini-series starts describing what PST was like beginning with my first 24-hour impressions of being in country.

I had thought originally that I would just write about my month at McCarthy all in one post, but as I read through my journal I realized how much there was to unpack from my first month in country, so I now think it makes more sense to write about McCarthy in parts. I have uploaded pictures from Thanksgiving though, so enjoy that if you want the narrative to move along more quickly!

With that context, welcome to part 1! This mini-series will cover November 9th - November 11th, 2016: My first 24 hours in-country.

When we last left our heroine, it was November 9th and I had passed out in the early afternoon. I was unconscious in a bedroom with my newest acquaintance and roommate, Allie.

I awoke at 4:30 AM November 10th. Oh hai jet lag. We had our first session that morning at 8:00 AM, so I had some time to get my thoughts together before the day began. Here are 5 points of interest in my first 24 hours:

1. Dress Code

2. Loneliness

3. Drinking Water

4. Vocabulary

5. The Tribe

Dress Code

As I alluded to in my previous post, one of the first things I remember having to adjust to at PST. Women weren't allowed to wear pants ("trousers" in Uganda), and all PCT's were required to dress "smart" during each of our sessions. As a reminder for what "dressing smart" (for women) entailed...

​​Men were required to wear closed-toed shoes, trousers and a collared shirt.

At first I was put off by the dress-code requirements, both that we had to adhere to them and that women couldn't wear trousers. I didn't anticipate having to dress "smart" for PST, and I certainly didn't anticipate adhering to the Ugandan ideals of dressing smart. I figured we'd be in shorts and a t-shirt for training -- or at least that we'd be able to wear jeans.

I don't wear skirts in America. Period. Dresses I can get behind. Skirts I just cannot. Every day I showed up to sessions feeling uncomfortable and unattractive. In America, your clothes are an outlet to express your individuality; it can be hard to suppress that part of yourself. At PST it also seemed unnecessary as we were basically only around fellow Americans.

But, as I've been in country for 5 months now, I understand why dress code was emphasized early and often. The way you dress in Uganda, especially at work, is a big deal. Dressing unprofessionally is a sign of disrespect not only for yourself, but for your colleagues. Dressing "smart" shows respect for your coworkers, your school, and your pupils. Just as Americans feel it would be rude to show up to a business meeting late, Ugandans feel it is equally disrespectful to show up to work not dressed appropriately.

PST served as a good time to make dress-code mistakes so that by the time we arrived at site, we all knew what was expected of us in terms of attire, and felt comfortable dressing appropriately. It also gave PCT's who didn't pack enough "smart" clothes an idea of what to buy in markets so they would be prepared for site.

As far as the specific complaint about not being able to wear trousers: The truth is, female teachers just don't wear trousers. Period. I think of it a bit like how America was (I imagine... based on Mad Men...) in the 50's/60's: Women do not wear pants to work. The truth is, Ugandan women don't wear trousers ever, but I can't exist in a skirt for more than is absolutely necessary.

Although the feminist in me wanted to protest that we should fight for the right of women to wear trousers just like men do, Peace Corps is about being able to adapt to the culture in which you are placed. In Uganda, a woman wearing trousers to school wouldn't be seen as a sign of revolution, it would be a sign of disrespect and a refusal to adapt to their culture (which is disrespectful in and of itself). At my school, I'm now comfortable wearing skirts to work and I don't feel unduly oppressed… though the frumpiness still remains.

This all being said, I have a very special appreciation for the brave, trail-blazing women who made trousers (and shorts!!) acceptable in America.

Here's to you.

And, to end, I submit my own experience with "dress code mistakes".

While at "Shakira", I was leading an assembly outside in front of the entire school with some other members of my cohort. We had planned this whole song and dance routine to make it entertaining and it went over very well; the pupils just died laughing. After the assembly, and after I had taught my lesson in front of P7, a little P4 pupil came up to me and tugged at my skirt.

"Teacher, your skirt is see-through. That's why everyone was laughing."

….

With as much grace as I could muster, I thanked her for telling me and sent her off to class.

And that, children, is why you should always wear a slip to work. Even if you swear you don't need one.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page