top of page

The Packing List


Ok kiddos, here it is. My take on packing! I'm writing this after having been in country 8 months, so I have a fairly good idea of what I wish I had/had not packed in order to come here.

Before we read it, please enjoy these heads up:

1. Peace Corps provides the essentials!!!!!

I'm talking malaria meds, mosquito nets, Advil/ibuprofen, band aids, sunscreen (though you may want special stuff for your face), mosquito repellent, your prescriptions, oral re-hydration salts, first aid supplies (and a ton of medical supplies I've omitted), water filters, yes, even condoms, and more. And they have refills on refills on refills. The one thing they don't provide is feminine hygiene products, but otherwise DO NOT WASTE SPACE ON THIS STUFF.

2. Peace Corps is going to give you more stuff once you get to country. Pack lightly (if you can)

You are going to get water filtration system (2 huge buckets), a huge blanket, a solar lamp, a medical kit, a huge "teaching kit" tub (for ed volunteers), a blue lock box, and probably some other stuff I'm forgetting. So take a long hard look at your luggage, and then double it. That is the amount you have to transport to site.

3. You are going to be nomadic for 3 months. Pack lightly (if you can)

See "this post" for an overview of our PST. Note you're moving everything 3 - 4x before you finally settle down at site (McCarthy --> Shakira --> Homestay --> Swearing In --> Site). Pack lightly.

4. Read blogs to get an idea of what to pack.

Here are the ones I visited before coming to country:

5. Take advantage of PCV discounts!

6. Don't stress

I know that sounds ridiculous, but Uganda already has everything you could possibly need. You are not camping for two years. You will learn how to get everything in country, including clothes, medicine, and food. There are plenty of ex-pats who are here that are keeping the supply up for all of our American cravings. You could come with nothing, and I am still confident you would not be missing anything. Most people I've spoken with here have agreed that bringing less is more.

Now... on to the stuff you actually want to know.

As I've said, I've been here for 8-months. I went back to my original packing list and have made notes about what I would or would not bring if I were to do it all over again.

Key:

Didn't Need / Don't Use

Bring enough for the first 3 months, but you can buy in country

Brought, just the right amount, no notes

Didn't bring but wish I had / Wish I'd brought more

Clothing (mostly from Goodwill or my closet)

Notes: This packing list is geared to female volunteers. Re: weather, I am in the North of Uganda where it is hot (think Texas in the spring = dry season, fall/winter = wet season). The Southwest of Uganda is much cooler (think Maine in the summer = dry season, fall = wet season), but only male volunteers were placed there my year. Most volunteers' sites are on the warmer side of that spectrum.

Tops

  1. 5 button up shirts for work- Would recommend short sleeves and wrinkle free/resistant as they keep you cooler and are easier to maintain.

  2. 8 cotton t-shirts - Just bring anything that makes you comfortable to wear during your time off.

  3. 5 tank tops- The ideal recommendation for shoulder strap length is 4 fingers, but I think anything other than spaghetti straps is pretty much fair game for working out/time off. My go-to "day off" outfit is a black tank top, trousers, and chacos.

  4. 1 - 2 dresses - Be sure they cover up to your knees and aren't spaghetti straps, but sundresses can help you feel "American" while remaining culturally appropriate.

  5. 4 long sleeve t-shirts- If I was in the Southwest (the one cold region in Uganda) maybe I would use these, but where I'm located it's much too hot to need long sleeves. The one exception might be one or two for sleeping to protect against the occasional rogue mosquito

  6. 3 big cotton shirts - I brought these for working out to wear leggings underneath. They need to cover your crotch area if a girl, the "v" in the crotch is very sexual and can't be shown even during workouts. If I ran or worked out maybe this would be useful, but I don't work out outside my house, and when I play soccer I just wear a tank top, Nike tempo shorts and leggings underneath (to cover up to my knees).

Bottoms

  1. 5 skirts (below the knee)- Good call. I wear these to school every single day

  2. 2 pair of jeans- For when you want to feel American

  3. 2 PJ pants - I wear them to sleep to protect against the occasional rogue mosquito

  4. 1 pair of yoga pants - Make sure they cover up to your knee, but this is what I wear beneath my shorts when I work out/play soccer to make the outfit more modest. You can also wear these under dresses that are a bit too short but cover your butt. I wish I'd brought another pair or two, because during PST I ended up playing soccer almost every day and these got really smelly…

  5. 4+ culturally appropriate, lightweight pants - Meaning pants that cover up to your knee and that you would feel cute/comfortable wearing out in public or during your time off. Here, I highly recommend gauchos or those elephant pants, but just anything that you can lounge around in and feel comfortable. Some blogs also recommend sweat pants if that's your thing.

  6. 3+ Nike Tempo Shorts - These are my jam when I'm just walking around my house or exercising.

  7. Windbreaker pants - These were nice for athletic days at school because they're very modest, but also let me look sporty.

  8. Lounging basketball shorts - Some blogs recommended these for working out, and I agree with that. I ended up wearing yoga pants covered by Nike shorts, but if you'd prefer to work out in long basketball shorts (that get close to your knee), that's ok too.

  9. 1 dressy pair of slacks - As a female, I have never needed a nice pair of slacks. I wore black jeans during staging, and in-country I'm always in a skirt.

  10. 3 pairs bike shorts - I think this is supposed to take the place of a slip/half-slip, but bike shorts are wayyy too short to cover enough of you if your dress is see through, so I'd just skip the bike shorts and invest more in slips.

Underwear

  1. 35 pairs of underwear- Still not sure if this was overkill… but I do love having so much underwear!

  2. 12 bras - Kind of same deal as the underwear, not sure if it was overkill. But nice bras are hard to find in country, so why not. Bring an assortment of cute, sports, and plain bras that mirror your distribution at home.

  3. Full/Half-slip- As a girl, you need a slip. Trust me, at least one of your dresses/skirts is see-through, even if you swear they're not. Even if you're right, someone else in the cohort is going to be so grateful to borrow it. They're also kind of hard to find in country so I'd bring several.

Outerwear

  1. Light-weight jacket / Zip up hoodie - But just one! You very likely won't need it past staging.

  2. Rainjacket - Good to have for dem rainy season days

  3. Lightweight shrug / cardigan / shall- I wear it occasionally in rainy season, or to make an outfit more culturally appropriate. But I don't think you should go crazy.

Shoes

  1. Chacos - Yasssss. Chacos are the best. I wear them almost every day, and PCV's get a great discount! You can google PCV discounts on wikipedia (I think… or just google PCV discounts, haha).

  2. Running shoes

  3. A pair of nice flats - Nice at staging/bars to be "business casual"/"cute".

  4. Flip flops/Shower Shoes (but you can buy more pairs there) - I used to wear a nicer pair of flip flops as my every day shoes, but then they ripped and have been replaced by chacos. Shower shoes are nice for, well, the shower, but also to wear around my house. Shower shoes are super easy to find in country.

  5. A pair of heels - I have never needed heels.

  6. House slippers - I have never been cold enough to want house slippers. I just use my shower shoes around my house.

Misc.

  1. Umbrella

  2. Swim suit - Yes it's OK to wear a bikini when you're at a pool.

  3. A baseball hat or two/Sunhat - I almost never wear these… but I think I am glad I brought it for the days when I care about protecting my skin.

  4. Sunglasses - Brought 3 pairs and am so happy I did. I wear them almost every day.

  5. Watch - Highly recommend a cheap, durable one (or two). Very helpful here.

  6. A beanie & gloves for the staging event in DC- Only needed 'em for staging. Could have sent them home after.

  7. 6 pairs of black socks (they won't show dirt!) - I only wear socks when I'm working out.

  8. Gardening gloves - I personally didn't garden in the States and I don't garden here. Shocking. But if you think you're going to be a gardening fiend then this might be for you.

  9. Anything that makes you feel more at home! - I brought a special sweatshirt and pair of socks that aren't practical to wear out, but they're special to me and remind me of home. I put them on at night when I need some extra comfort. Keep in mind anything you bring may get lost/destroyed, so bring something that's special but wouldn't devastate you if it didn't make it home.

Toiletries

  1. Shampoo

  2. Conditioner

  3. Body wash

  4. Baby powder - Very helpful when you haven't washed your hair in forever

  5. Razor & blades - Can find disposable ones in country. For the more expensive kind I'd pack as many as you think you'll need for 2 years.

  6. Lotion - There is lotion everywhere in country.

  7. Toothbrush, toothpaste and floss

  8. Face wash - I'm very particular about my facewash, so I brought a lot and probably could have brought more. I recommend bringing bars of facewash to fit more in a suitcase (like Cervave hydrating bars).

  9. Acne Wash - I wish I'd brought more of this for when I break out. I'm very particular about which type of acne face wash I want to use and it's very expensive to buy in country.

  10. Make-up removing face wipes - I don't really use these much because I don't wear make-up here often, but they're hard to find in country so if you think you may use them then I'd bring a fair amount. That being said, I'm happy I brought a few for the days when I'm too lazy to wash my face and I want to get the dirt off.

  11. Ponds cold cream - Same notes as the face wipes.

  12. Moisturizer - It's pretty humid here so there's not a lot of need for moisturizer. That being said, I'm pretty anal about my skin and I like to put on moisturizer every day just out of habit. It's hard to find the type I like (Cerave moisturizer PM) in country though so I wish I'd brought more.

  13. Aquaphor - Meh, I brought this with the idea that it might go over my moisturizer some nights to reallyyy seal in the moisture, but it's too humid here. That being said, I like using this for making my feet soft.

  14. Cotton balls - Always nice to have cotton balls.

  15. Washcloth - Bring as many as you're used to at home. Some blogs recommend quick-dry/sports washcloth to save space.

  16. Sports towels - Same as washcloth description

  17. 3 sticks of deodorant - For some reason the deodorant here doesn't have the combination of both odor control AND antiperspirant, so I ended up having more deodorant shipped here. I also like men's deodorant so…

  18. Hair-cutting scissors - Your cohort will thank you

  19. Comb and brush

  20. Hairbands, bobby pins, head bands

  21. Free-standing small mirror - Or any small mirror that you can use when there are no mirrors in your house…

  22. Tweezers

  23. 2 Divacups - What I use for my periods, but you may want to bring a 3 month supply of tampons/pads if that's more your jam. You can find tampons/pads in-country after the first 3 months.

  24. Pantyliners - I brought 2 reusable pantyliners, but there are pads in country that you can buy after your first 3 months.

  25. Divacup wash

  26. Nail clippers & file

  27. Earplugs - These were SUCH a good call. I use them nightly at site and would have been a good insurance with how often we're paired with a roommate (though luckily my roomie of choice doesn't snore).

  28. Sleeping mask - I use this nightly but it's kind of dependent on how sensitive you are to light.

  29. Make-Up - I rarely wear makeup, but it's nice to have a small supply of the essentials when I want to be dressy.

  30. Travel size containers - You're going to travel to visit friends and other parts of Uganda, you don't want to be lugging around a full-size bottle of shampoo e'rrytime you go.

  31. Face masks - I've had these sent because they're great for spa days. Bring anything that helps to relax you.

  32. Nail polish - I'm not big on nail polish in the States so I didn't bring any, but in hindsight I wish I'd brought one or two just for spa/movie days.

  33. Other Special Things - Something that would have made me feel more like myself is my perfume(s). I wouldn't have wanted to risk an entire bottle, but I wish I had brought just some small samplers or small bottles for days when I want to feel special or more at home. I'd leave this last space for any small thing you'd be willing to see lost/destroyed, but would make your time here feel more comfortable.

Vitamins / Medicine

  1. Multivitamins - PCMO will supply after the first 3 months (IF REQUESTED).

  2. Traveler's diarrhea pills - I got a prescription for traveler's diarrhea when I got my vaccinations, and I'm glad I have it, though PCMO also supplies an anti-diarrheal.

  3. Tretinoin - PCMO will supply all prescription medication after the first 3 months (IF REQUESTED).

  4. Anti-itch cream - PCMO can supply this after the first 3 months.

  5. Bug spray - PCMO will supply this after the first 3 months.

  6. Eye drops - PCMO will supply this after the first 3 months (IF REQUESTED)

  7. 4 chapsticks with SPF - PCMO will supply this after the first 3 months

  8. Aloe Vera - Good to have my own small supply, can't remember if PCMO supplies or not. I know if it's not aloe specifically they do have something to help alleviate the pain from burns.

  9. Vicks Vapo rub

  10. Melatonin - Happy I brought this. I can't remember if PCMO supplies this, but I'm happy I have my own supply.

  11. Dramamine - Same as "melatonin".

  12. Midol- Same as "melatonin".

  13. Retainer

  14. Gum

  15. (Facial) sunscreen - PCMO will supply sunscreen after the first 3 months, but if you're like me and you want something specific for your face, I'd recommend bringing your own supply just for your face.

  16. Heating packs - I tend to throw my back/neck out so I brought heating pads. PCMO doesn't supply.

  17. Advil / Ibuprofen - PCMO will provide you with as much of this stuff as your heart could desire.

Home

Bedding

  1. Sheets - My bed is at site is twin, and the beds at PST were twins, but some people have full beds at site. You can buy sheets in country but maybe bring sheets that aren't fitted? Your call.

  2. A pillow - I got 2 traveler's pillows that blew up, but some people swear up and down that bringing a pillow from home was the best decision they ever made. Your call. The PCV before me left a ton of pillows so I've been set on that front.

  3. A mattress liner - Brought to keep them bedbugs 'n' stuff out.​

Kitchen

  1. Knife sharpener - Did bring this, but haven't used it yet. It's not red because who knows, maybe I will in the future.

  2. Ziploc bags

  3. French Press - Highly recommend. I'm a coffee fiend and I was over instant coffee by the first week. I use my amazing french press every single morning. <3 (Had this one for PST. A very kind surprise was receiving this one later in my service as a gift.)

  4. Coffee grinder - You can find ground coffee, but I've liked having a grinder so I have the option.

  5. Can opener

  6. Measuring spoons / cups - Very happy I brought a set. Ended up having a few more sets sent over as gifts for other PCV's.

  7. Vegetable peeler - Happy to have this.

  8. Spatulas - Happy to have this, though they probably sell them here.

  9. Gladware containers - Very happy to have lots of Tupperwear (how else are we keeping food good for any amount of time without a fridge??)! Not a lot in-country

  10. Timer - Fer cookin' n stuff. I have 2 and I use them every day.

  11. Bottle opener - I'm sure you can find these here, but always nice to have.

  12. 3 good kitchen knives - I didn't actually end up bringing any kitchen knives, but I remember a lot of blogs complained that finding good knives in Uganda was really difficult. I bought all my knives in-country and haven't had a problem with cutting anything. I don't think it's necessary to bring knives, and certainly not 3.

Misc. / Decorations / "Office"

  1. World Map/Other Wall Decorations - Are you a real PCV if you don't have at least one world map decorating your house? I also brought a Game of Thrones map (though it has been ruined. Sad.) and a Texas flag

  2. Sewing kit - Yep. Good to have.

  3. Duct tape - Good to have. Bring lots.

  4. Nails, rubber bands, safety pins

  5. Clothespins - Would recommend bringing a lot for hanging up clothes, keeping food fresh, etc!

  6. Note cards for making flash cards during training - These have a variety of uses. I'm happy I have them

  7. Sharpies - Yeah you can buy them here, but idk. They're not quite as ubiquitious as pens.

  8. Accordion folder/Binder - Really like this for organizing my papers from PC. Wish I'd brought two or three to organize financial papers vs training papers vs medical papers vs PC committee papers, etc.

  9. Journals - Although I do type a lot of my thoughts on my computer, it's nice to have a journal to write in when a computer isn't an option.

  10. Twist ties - Nice for keeping food fresh

  11. 4+ plastic hanging hooks - I didn't really need these, but I was also set up kind of in a pre-furnished mansion. I know a lot of PCV's who really liked having these.

  12. 6 Bungee cords - Same as "hanging hooks" note

  13. Candles - I've had these sent because I just love relaxing with a nice vanilla candle to make me feel at home

  14. ANYTHING THAT MAKES YOU FEEL MORE AT HOME - You need to make this house your HOME. Just know that anything you bring runs a good chance of being destroyed (#RIP GoT map).

  15. Leatherman knife / Swiss army knife - I personally have never needed a swiss army knife

  16. 3 photo albums - I wasn't a picture person in the States and, really, how long did I think I was leaving for that I needed to compile photo albums? My parents/family friends made me a nice book with pictures and notes and that was nice, but I have not, of my own volition, made additional photo albums. I keep all my pictures on my computer like a normal millennial.

  17. Good pens - Again, not really sure where this idea that "Uganda doesn't have good pens" came from, but I probably could have bought all of my pens in country and been just as happy.

  18. Planner of only months for 2016-2019 - I never use this.

Electronics

Notes: First, I did my electronic buying backwards: I bought a huge reusable battery charger capable of charging all different types of batteries; then I only bought double and triple A batteries, but I bought a ton of them; and then I only needed 8 AA's and one, small, AA re-charger. So learn from my mistakes: First, buy the electronics, THEN the batteries you actually need, and THEN the appropriate battery charger.

Second, outlets here are in the U.K. style. Plan accordingly.

  1. Rechargeable batteries - I only use these for my lantern, but if you have a lot of stuff that operates on batteries then just make sure you have enough rechargeable batteries for that stuff.

  2. Battery charger- I would assess what kind of batteries you need based on what electronics run on batteries. I kind of just blindly bought a ton of batteries and an overly expensive charter.

  3. USB Portable Charger - Highly recommend this one

  4. iPhone and Charger - Be sure to unlock the phone BEFORE coming; it's really difficult and expensive to do there

  5. Travel alarm clock - One that runs on batteries

  6. 3 sets of headphones - My earbuds got damaged from water, dust or sweat. So definitely bring backups.

  7. Portable speakers - I really like having these

  8. Portable speakers case

  9. Laptop and charger

  10. Large External hard drive (650 Gb+) - I got one for 2 TB and it's full :(

  11. Large External Hard drive case

  12. 2+ Flash drives (~8 Gb each) - Nice for bringing stuff to town when I want something printed

  13. Kindle & charger

  14. Kindle case

  15. Power adapter / universal adapter - Yasss. Bring several. Outlets here are the UK style.

  16. Lantern - Very happy I have this for when my power goes out. This is the only thing I use batteries for.

  17. 6-outlet Surge protector - Has not been used because it has an American plug and needs to be plugged into a universal adapter. The universal adapter is also a surge protector and promptly causes the 6-outlet surge protector to short out. A more useful bring would have been a surge protector with a U.K. plug, something like this or this.

  18. 1-outlet Surge protector - Same problem as 6-outlet protector.

  19. Headlamp - I don't ever have to leave my house after dark. When I'm in my house and it's dark, I just use my phone or my lantern.

  20. Solio charger- I don't use this because my house has electricity. Peace Corps also gave us a solar charger/lamp. It might still have been nice, and PCV's get a 40% discount, but it's your call.

Entertainment / Exercise

  1. Playing cards/Poker chips -(normal cards, and also UNO, Apples to Apples, Cards against Humanity..) - Happy I brought normal playing cards. Very versatile and we even had our first (kind of) friendly poker game!

  2. Jump rope - I can't use this because my knee gave out :( but I WOULD be using it if I was allowed to jump

  3. Yoga mat - Wish I'd brought this… but I'm not sure I would have been able to fit it in my luggage. You can buy yoga mats here, but they're very expensive.

  4. Resistance/Exercise Band - Didn't bring, but now that I'm looking to alternatives to jumping rope, I wish I'd thrown one in my bag.

  5. Ukulele/ music/extra strings - So happy I brought this! It's been so fun to learn :)

  6. Bananagrams - I didn't bring this and haven't missed it, but depends on how much of a "game" person you are in real life

  7. Anything else that you want - I'd leave this last space for any small thing you'd be willing to see lost/destroyed, but would make your time here feel more comfortable.

Food / Drink

  1. Protein Bars - Great to have when I just needed a break from Ugandan food or am going on a long bus ride.

  2. Powdered drink mix (hot cocoa for me) - Nice for nights when I want to treat myself to something sweet and warm :) Bring whatever you like to drink at home!

  3. Coffee - Nice for PST before you go into Kampala to buy real coffee. But there is coffee in Uganda.

  4. Instant coffee - Wish I'd brought more to last me through PST before we were able to go to Kampala to buy real coffee…

  5. Peanut butter - Things I wish I'd brought…

  6. Coffee Creamer - Things I wish I'd brought… (because I'm like... really about coffee... if you can't tell...)

  7. Spices - I had spices (Thyme, Oregano, Parsley) sent over because I became a spaghetti making fiend. But if there's a meal you know you loved or spices you use often, bring them! They're lightweight and can add a lot of variety to what I can promise will seem like a very monotonous diet

  8. Anything that makes you feel more at home! - Special food you like or that you think might be specific to the US I would recommend bringing! So many PCV's wish they'd packed fewer clothes and more food.

  9. Sea salt - Idk why I brought salt… there's salt here…

Misc.

  1. 2 Nalgenes - Nice to have a spare. I use my nalgene every day.

  2. Luggage locks - Good to have.

  3. Passport photos - They say bring 8 so I guess bring 8. Idk.

  4. Passport - Make copies!

  5. Passport holder - That holds other items such as WHO card, ID

  6. Host family gift - Small games for children are good, candy, I brought a book with pictures of Texas and America. Don't stress too much about this.

  7. Copies of all important documents in a file folder and electronically - Leave copies at home with someone you trust

  8. Property Insurance - Judgement call

  9. Sawyer Products SP131 PointOne Squeeze Water Filter System with 3 Pouches - PCMO gives us supplies to filter our water.

  10. Splash guard for Nalgene - Don't really use these anymore and found they weren't that effective when I did.

  11. Combo locks - PC gives us locks for our house and for a "safebox"

Luggage

  1. Backpack - BRING a durable backpack. You'll use it all the time

  2. 1 carry-on roller bag - This + my backpack are what I use when I travel to see other PCV's

  3. 2 large suitcases - Those massive ones that just barely fit under the weight requirement. Some people say they're nice to double as compartments for your house. Idk, mine are under my bed holding all of the stuff I should have left at home...

 

PHEW! Ok with formatting and links and everything this took a ridiculously long time to type out, but I hope it's helpful to some of you young whippersnappers out there. Feel free to reach out to me at any time, remember to start packing early, don't stress and good luck!


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page